top of page

Analytical Mindset



Definition:

Reflecting on past decisions made and finding and categorizing information for future decisions to be made. You look at the alternatives you have, and then make an informed decision.


Which teams or environmental factors contribute to this outcome?

Your environment definitely affects your decision making. You need to see how much information is accessible to you. Your team is important as well, as they are a great source for information as well as helping you with the decision process.


Which factors are most important (they have the most direct connection to the outcome)?

I do believe patience is key in analytical thinking. It can be frustrating to really sit and weigh your options, and this process can take some time. You may even have to wait longer for new alternatives to be made available to actually make a fully informed decision by assessing all the options.


Which factors are most impacted by the outcome? What changes as a result of an impact to this factor?

The end result. If you have patiently waited to make a decision and thought about it analytically, and weighed the cost and benefits, you are likely to have produced a better end result.


Personal Overview:

I am definitely still practicing this way of thinking. I am not very analytical, in the sense that I am not patient enough to weigh all my options. I do admit that I look for an easier and quicker way to do things, which has yielded me poorer results than I would have liked. Working in the same organization for the past 3 years really helped my patience. My advisor knew that I could make hasty decisions at times, and actually talked to me into waiting and simply weighing my options.

Comentários


bottom of page