top of page

Leadership

Updated: Nov 28, 2018

Definition:

Leadership can be defined as organizing a group to efficiently carry out responsibilities together.


Overview:

I believe it was my sophomore year when I realized I needed to further my skills as a leader. I was in charge of 5 freshmen as part of my subcommittee in my organisation, and I found myself getting frustrated at times because the freshmen would take longer to do a job that I could have done in a shorter time. This made me realize that they were still learning, and being patient and encouraging is part of being a leader. My freshmen challenged me as a leader. It was because of them that I became a better leader. I had to take charge and create an encouraging working environment for them to work it. I had to make myself available for whenever they needed help.


Reflection:

A time when I was not successful in leading my peers was my sophomore year. There are certain qualities that a leader requires to be effective, and one of them is being humble enough to ask for help when needed. I had to organise an event, and my freshmen were unavailable to help. Even though it was a team effort, I believed that as the leader of the team, the weight of the responsibility fell on me and it was my duty to carry on alone. However, it did not occur to me to ask for help from my other staff members in the other subcommittees. I was being stubborn in thinking that I could do it all alone. I believe it was this experience where I faltered as a leader. But since then, I reflect on the experience and I know how important it is to stay humble and realised it was okay to ask for help.

Comments


bottom of page