top of page

Inclusive Mindset


Definition: Being aware of personal and organizational blind spots and being able to step in and interrupt that behavior when it happens.


Which teams or environmental factors contribute to this outcome?

In teams where you are made aware of your flaws and how sometimes your assumptions can be wrong. It allows us a space for where we can step back and figure out a problem together in a team setting with your peers.


Which factors are most important (they have the most direct connection to the outcome)?

Leadership is important because when one is leading a group of people, it allows that individual to help his/her peers grow as well as himself/herself. It creates an awareness and a space for the group to open up the dialogue and speak freely, so correct any biases.  


Which factors are most impacted by the outcome? What changes as a result of an impact to this factor?

A person’s self growth. It enables them to be self aware of their own biases and how to overcome those biases and be set on the straight path.


Personal Development Overview:

I started to pay attention to this way of thinking when I was in my organization on campus. I was a  staff member and I would feel that sometimes I may be leaning towards one way of thinking and favoring particular situations because I was biased. I had to really take a step back and reevaluate my way of thinking. We were working in a team setting and I was in charge of my other peers, which is why I had to set aside personal biases and do what was best for everyone. This meant that I had to really listen to what others say and genuinely take their thoughts into account. My time in that organization really did help me grow and enabled me to act more professionally and improved my team working skills.


Personal Development Reflection

My organization definitely helped me grow into this way of thinking. I spent three years in this organization, with a different role each year. I started out as a freshman member, then a sophomore Assistant Director, and then finally an Executive Director my junior year.  I learned more and more each year and I had to change my way of thinking as I had new responsibilities.

I did find myself being bias, as I would feel that my ideas were the ‘right’ ideas. But I had to learn to step back and assess myself. Thinking that my current mindset would not help me in any way. It was due to the development and growth I experienced in the organization where I felt I truly grew into an Inclusive Mindset and learned to work well with a team.  That experience will always stay with me, and I believe it was one of my most important growth and learning experiences that I had at Texas A&M. I am eager to see how this mindset and growth will enable me to be more successful in the future.

Comentários


bottom of page