top of page

Communication

Updated: Dec 4, 2018

Definition:

Communication is the ability to effectively relay information and exchange ideas.


Overview:

I believe I still need to improve my communication skills. I was never that good at accurately conveying information as it would, at times, get lost in translation. I realized I needed to improve in this area my first semester of college, when I was required to give a presentation in front of my class. I do have some stage fright, so I at times, get very nervous. My classes at college have helped me develop public speaking skills, and I have gotten better at creating meaningful discussion with people who I meet for the first time.

I have to present in class every other week, and I do believe I am handling my nerves better. I am more familiar with the people whom I am presenting in front of, so that helps as well.


Reflection:

I was in a FLO (freshman leadership international) my freshman year. I was in the subcommittee in charge of the weekly committee meetings. This really helped me as I saw other great speakers. Some of of peers were very good at public speaking, and just watching them talk with the confidence they had encouraged me to do the same. The organisation helped shape me as a communicator. As I moved up in the organisation, becoming as assistant director and then an executive director, I learned that for a team to function, is is essential to communicate effectively. In terms of communicating to individuals, I feel that I have drastically improved, as I am not more clear and efficient in my delivery of information.

Comments


bottom of page