top of page

Act Ethically

Updated: Nov 28, 2018

Definition :

Acting ethically simply doing the right thing and making a decision where you choose the right thing to do, even if it is the harder way to do things.


Overview:

It is normal to have conflicting options, one being unethical but easy, and the other being ethical but difficult. I believe people are always growing and expanding their knowledge. It is important to surround yourself with people of the same values, and I believe I became a better person when I joined my organisation simply because of the people I surrounded myself with. My advisor was someone who always helped me stay on the right track and kept me in check. Having a support system who keeps you in check is very important. It can be very tempting to do the easy unethical thing, but that would harm your character as well as your reputation. Simple everyday things like cutting line can seem like the easy faster way to get something done. But how will people perceive you then?


Reflection:

I think as a student, cheating is just such an easy way of getting good results. Coming to this school that has such a strong code of ethics, I found my mindset changing. At first, I did not think it was a huge issue, but after studying here for just a semester, I believe my own code of ethics has strengthened.

Comments


bottom of page